Luis Suarez Footballer of the Year: Reaction to the Liverpool star’s latest award

Luis Suarez Footballer of the Year: Reaction to the Liverpool star’s latest award

Luis Suarez Footballer of the Year: Reaction to the Liverpool star’s latest award

Richard Beech | 05/05/2014 | Mirror


12:12 pm

Luis Suarez has been named as the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year, just weeks after winning the PFA Player of the Year.

The Uruguay striker has scored 30 goals this season for Liverpool as well as bagging 24 assists in all competitions.

After a controversial end to last season, the 27-year-old has turned things around this year, and has played a hugely important role in Liverpool’s push for the Premier League title.

Partnering Daniel Sturridge up front, the duo became the first Liverpool strikers to each score 20 league goals in a season for 50 years.


12:13 pm
It has emerged that Luis Suarez received 52 per cent of the vote from members of the Football Writers’ Association.

It represents a double personal achievement for the Uruguayan, who was named PFA Player of the Year last weekend.


12:25 pm
 It’s not just football writers who think more of Luis Suarez this year.

The Uruguayan is seen as being more likeable with members of the public.

A survey conducted by Repucom reveals that Luis Suarez is 7 per cent more likeable than he was this time last year.

Last season, 36.61 per cent of people in the UK were said to have liked Suarez. This year however, that figure is 43.62 per cent of the population, a rise of over 7 percentage points.

12:38 pm
Just a reminder that other footballers are available.
12:50 pm
 Our very own John Cross has revealed that he might have voted for Yaya Toure, which has gone down incredibly well with the Twitterati.
1:00 pm
Richard Beech

The Mirror’s chief sports writer Ollie Holt reveals he voted for Luis Suarez.

2:12 pm

A growing number of Manchester City fans seem to be less than impressed at the outcome of the Football Writers’ Association FOTY award.

With our own John Cross revealing that he voted for Yaya Toure earlier, we can reveal that 52 per cent of writers voted for Suarez.

Mark Ogden of the Daily Telegraph has responded to Manchester City fans who have been complaining about the outcome of the vote.


2:20 pm
Martin Lipton

Martin Lipton reveals the thinking behind his vote:

I expect, now, Manchester City to win the title. If (when?) they do, the player most responsible for their triumph is the bloke who has scored 23 goals from central midfield, who monsters his opponents and is, at times, an unstoppable force of nature.

Luis Suarez is, unquestionably, a deserving Footballer of the Year. he has been magnificent for Liverpool and took them to the brink of glory. But Yaya Toure took City over that brink. That is why I voted for him.


2:31 pm

Seem to have upset Man City fans on Twitter. Apparently they don’t mind that Suarez won, they’re miffed that Gerrard came second.

Didn’t realise they were so preoccupied with second place, thought Man City were after the top spot.


2:33 pm
Oliver Holt
I voted for Suarez.

I voted for him because the standard of his football has been so consistently brilliant this season. Steven Gerrard has had an excellent year, too, but the goals and the creativity of Suarez have made the difference for Liverpool.


3:01 pm
John Cross

I voted for Yaya Toure. It was so tight between Luis Suarez and Toure that I went for who is the most likely to win the title. If you’d asked me a few weeks back I’d have gone Suarez all day long.


3:37 pm

Did Luis Suarez deserve to win the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award?

4:43 pm

Interesting statistics regarding the efficiency and effectiveness of Suarez, versus his team-mate Sturridge,

While Suarez has scored more goals, Daniel Sturridge has won more points for Liverpool this term.

If you take away Sturridge’s goals from final scorelines, Liverpool would drop 18 points. For Suarez, it would only be 15 points.

This entry was posted in The Celebrity DBI in Media. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.